A group of staff and faculty with administrative roles from across campus have, since the summer, engaged in discussions about the COVID-19 planning process. Group members meet weekly to share insights and bring issues back to their offices for further consideration. This group receives information from various decision-making groups, including the president and her leadership team, the faculty, and our Board of Trustees. Members help translate policy into our day-to-day operations processes. Meeting topics have included supply chain considerations such as availability of personal protective equipment (PPE) and cleaning supplies, cleaning protocols, isolation and quarantine housing processes, guest and visitor access, and coordination with vendors. Members of the operational implementation group serve as important conduits for information, questions, and great ideas.

Each area of the College has a unique organizational structure, and moving information along those structures sometimes leads to disconnects. Know that the folks in this group are hoping to minimize the disconnects as we gear up to welcome more students back to campus this spring. 

Please submit ideas or questions to covid-19@lafayette.edu.


Members of the operational implementation group

Jason Alley, director of learning and research technologies

Dave Block ‘93, director of internal communications

Jamila Bookwala, dean of the faculty and professor of psychology

Sue Burns, associate dean of admissions and operations

Chelsea Cefalu, assistant director of community based learning and research

Christopher Brown, general manager of Lafayette Dining Services

Lauren Daniels, project manager, Aegis Property Group

Annette Diorio, vice president for campus life (co-chair)

Jennifer Dize, assistant dean of students

Markus Dubischar, associate dean of the curriculum and associate professor of classics

Sherryta Freeman, director of athletics

Jodie Frey, associate dean and director of recreation services

Melissa Garrison, director of counseling services

Riley Godshall ‘19, special assistant to the vice president for campus life 

Jeff Goldstein, director of the health center and college physician

Matt Hammerstone, supervisor of environmental, health and safety

Anne Houston, dean of libraries

Kara Howe, registrar

Rochelle Keesler, director of international and off-campus education

Jennifer Kelly, director of arts and associate professor of music

Scott Kennedy, director of facilities operations

Chris Koch, director of user services

Ben Landis, associate director of annual and leadership giving

Cristie Lazart, associate director of human resources/benefits

Meghan Madeira, director of capital projects, Aegis Property Group

Scott Morse, senior director of communications – campus life and athletics

Sue Newquist, associate director of admissions

Mike Olin, dean of academic advising and co-curricular programs

Vanessa Pearson, director of student involvement

Patty Reich, procurement director

Lisa Rex, director of human resources/employment

Grace Reynolds, director of residence life

Teri Richter, manager of scheduling and events planning

Greg Scofield, business services director

Alma Scott-Buczak ‘74, associate vice president for human resources

Kim Spang, vice president for development and college relations

Melissa Starace, assistant to the president for board and community relations

Amir Tejani, special assistant to the president for strategic planning (co-chair)

Jeff Troxell, director of public safety